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Smoke & Carbon Monoxide Detector Compliance Inspection 
Information 

 
Certificates of Compliance 
Massachusetts General Law Chapter 26F and 26F ½ requires the issuance 
of a Certificate of Compliance upon successful completion of smoke 
detector and carbon monoxide detector inspection upon sale or transfer of 
a residential property. The Fire Department may also observe for 
deficiencies of other fire protection requirements for the home (oil burners, 
propane tanks, supplemental heating units, abandoned fuel tanks etc). 
Deficiencies must be resolved prior to issuance of the certificate. 
Inspections are valid for 60 days from date of successful completion of 
inspection. 
 
Inspection Fee 
Fee will be collected prior to inspection being conducted, and if a re-
inspection is required the second fee will be collected at that inspection. 
 
$50 Single unit    Re-inspection $10 
$100 2 Family   Re-inspection $10 
$150 3-6 Units   Re-inspection $15 
$500 6+ Units   Re-inspection $10 
 
Appointments 
All appointment should be made at least 10 business days prior to the 
closing. The year of construction or last substantial renovation should be 
known when calling for an appointment. 
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1 and 2 Family 
FAX: 508-885-2732 
Appointments are scheduled through the Chief’s Office at 508-885-3555. 
 
New Construction, condos, and multi-family 
Appointments are scheduled and conducted by the Fire Chief at 
508-885-3555 
 
New Construction 3 or more units 
Smoke and Fire Alarm: Appointments are scheduled and conducted by the 
Fire Chief and appointments scheduled by calling 508-885-3555. 
Sprinklers: Appointments are scheduled and conducted by the Fire Chief 
and scheduled by calling 508-885-3555. 
 
House Numbers 
Massachusetts General Law Chapter 148 section 59 requires verification 
that house numbers are properly displayed on the home and are visible 
from the street. Numbers shall be a minimum of 3 inches tall in a 
contrasting color. If not visible from the street, signage is required at street 
level and at way points as necessary until numbers on home are visible. 
Failure to meet this requirement will result in a failed inspection and the 
need to reschedule. 
 
Testing of Devices 
Property owners, their agents or proxies are required to test smoke and 
carbon monoxide detectors. Each device must be activated and functional. 
Licensed Fire Alarm Technicians may be needed to conduct testing of low 
voltage or Central Station monitored alarm systems. Testing must conform 
to manufacture’s requirements. 
 
Residential Property Renovations 
In accordance with the Massachusetts State Building Code 780 CMR, 
alterations/ renovations to residential properties may result in the need to 
upgrade smoke detection systems to the current edition of the building 
code. The upgrade order applies to the entire dwelling. Additionally, 
previously unreported alterations to a property may result in an order to 
upgrade smoke detectors to the code in effect at the time of alteration. The 
Spencer Building Department will make that determination. Typical 
alterations requiring upgrade of smoke detectors would include adding a 
bedroom or a complete renovation of the dwelling. 
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Carbon Monoxide Detectors 
Residential building built: Prior to 2008 
MGL Chapter 148 Sect. 26F 1/2 & 527 CMR 31 
Carbon monoxide detectors are required in all residential buildings, and 
Day Care Centers that have carbon producing equipment (fossil fuels, oil, 
gas, and fire places) and/or an attached garage. Carbon monoxide 
detectors may be battery, plug-in with battery back-up, hardwire or 
combination devices in all residences built or renovated prior to 2008. All 
combination smoke and carbon monoxide detector must be voice alert. 527 
CMR 31 requires a minimum of one carbon monoxide detectors on each 
habitable level of the dwelling. “Habitable areas” shall mean that portion of 
a cellar, basement or attic that is designed, used or furnished for living 
purposes. Detectors are required within 10 feet of the doorway to each 
bedroom but not inside bedrooms. Detectors must be installed in 
accordance with manufactures instructions. It is strongly recommended to 
retain manufacturer’s instructions for Fire Department review during 
inspection. Carbon monoxide alternative compliance options are listed in 
527 CMR Sect 31. Alternative compliance plans must be submitted and 
approved by Fire Prevention prior to install. 
 
Residential building built: 2008 to present 
780 CMR 5313.4 7th Edition 
Carbon monoxide detectors are required in all residential buildings that 
have carbon producing equipment (fossil fuels, oil, gas, and fire places) 
and/or an attached enclosed garage. Carbon monoxide detectors must be 
hardwired and interconnected. All combination photoelectric smoke and 
carbon monoxide detector must be voice alert. 780 CMR 5313 requires a 
minimum of one carbon monoxide detectors on each level of the dwelling. 
Detectors are required within 10 feet of doorway to each bedroom, but not 
within the bedroom. Detectors must be installed in accordance with 
manufactures instructions. It is strongly recommended to retain 
manufacturer’s instructions for Fire Department review during inspection. 
 
Service Life of Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Detectors 
Smoke Detectors 10 years or older must be replaced per NFPA 72. Carbon 
Monoxide Detectors 5 to 7 years or older should be replaced unless 
otherwise specified by Manufacturer. It is strongly recommended retaining 
manufacturer’s instructions for Fire Department review during inspection. 
A date is stamped on each device. If a code is present, rather than a date, 
it is over 10 years old per UL standards. 
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Battery Operated Smoke Detectors 
Battery operated smoke detectors are only allowed in unaltered residences 
built prior to 1975. 
 
Photoelectric Smoke Detectors 
Any smoke detector in a dwelling unit or common space that is located 
within 20Ft of a kitchen or bathroom having a shower and/or tub shall be 
photoelectric technology only. 
 
Interconnected Detectors 
All detectors that are required to be hard wired shall be interconnected. 
Meaning when one detector activates, all detectors activate. Except for 
dwelling units built or renovated prior to 1975. 
 
Local Interpretation 
Smoke detectors that are required, “outside of each sleeping area or in the 
immediate vicinity of the bedrooms”, shall be located within 10 feet of the 
bedroom door. 
 

Smoke Detector Location Requirements 
 

Year of 
Construction 
or Substantial 

Renovation 

Type of 
Home 

 

Requirement 
 

Regulation
 

All generations of 
detector 

installations 

 

 

 
 

Smoke Detectors 10 years or 
older must be replaced. Any 

smoke detector located within 
20Ft of a kitchen or a bath 

including tub or shower shall 
be a photoelectric type. 

NFPA 72 
Incorporated as 

a 
reference by 
780 CMR. 

 
Pre-1975 

No Substantial 
Renovations 

 
 EFFECTIVE April 5, 2010 
 

One and two 
family 

residences 

 

Battery operated smoke 
detectors are allowed (or 
mixed battery and hard 
wired). All smoke detectors 
shall employ both ionization 
and photoelectric technology, 
in either a single unit or by 
means of two separate units, 

MGL 148 
26E(a) and 

527 CMR 32 
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except smoke detectors 
located within 20 Ft of a 
kitchen or bathroom 
containing a bathtub or 
shower shall not employ 
ionization technology. 
Minimum of one smoke 
detector on each level. 
Ceiling of stairway leading to 
floor above, near base of, but 
not within each stairway and 
outside each separate 
sleeping area. 

Pre-1975 
No Substantial 
Renovations 

EFFECTIVE April 5, 
2010 

 

Common 
ingress/egress

of Two 
Family 

Dwellings 

 

Battery Smoke detectors are 
allowed (or mixed battery and 
hard wired) in common areas 
at base of, but not within, 
stairways and on each level. 
All smoke detectors shall 
employ both ionization and 
photoelectric technology, in 
either a single unit or by 
means of two separate units, 
except smoke detectors 
located within 20 Ft of a 
kitchen or bathroom 
containing a bathtub or 
shower shall not employ 
ionization technology. See 
above for within dwelling unit 
requirements. 

MGL 148 
26E(a) 

and 
527 CMR 32 

 

1975 to 1997 
Constructed or 
Substantially 
Renovated 

 

One and two 
family 

residences 
Interconnected hard wired 
detectors only. Minimum of 
one smoke detector on each 
level. One approved 
interconnected smoke 
detector shall be located 
outside of each separate 
sleeping area; bedrooms 
separated by other use areas 
shall be considered separate 
sleep areas. One approved 
smoke shall be located on the 
ceiling near the base of, but 
not within, each stairway. 
 
 

MGL 148 26B 
780 CMR 

2101.14, 16 (4th 

Ed. One & Two 
Family) 

3401.14 (5th Ed. 
One & Two 

Family) 
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1975 to 1997 
Constructed or 
Substantially 
Renovated 

 

Common 
ingress/egress
of Two Family 

Dwellings 

 

Hard wired interconnected 
smoke detectors are required 
in common areas at base of, 
but not within, stairways and 
on each level. A hard wired 
heat detector, interconnected 
to the common smoke 
detectors, is allowed in each 
unit. See above for within 
dwelling unit requirements. 

MGL 148 26B 
780 CMR 

2101.14, 16 (4th 

Ed. One & Two 
Family) 

3401.14 (5th Ed. 
One & Two 

Family) 

 
1997-2007 

Constructed or 
Substantially 
Renovated 

 

One and two 
family 

residences 
Interconnected hard wired 
detectors only. In the 
immediate vicinity of the 
bedrooms; in all bedrooms; in 
each story of a dwelling unit 
including basements and 
cellars, but not including crawl 
spaces and uninhabitable 
attics; in residential units of 
1200 square feet or more, 
automatic fire detectors in the 
form of smoke detectors shall 
be provided for each 1200 
square feet of area or part 
thereof. 

780 CMR 919.3 
& 

3603.16 (6th 

Edition of 780 
CMR) 

1997-2007 
Constructed or 
Substantially 
Renovated 

 

Common 
ingress/egress
of Two Family 

Dwellings 

 

Hard wired interconnected 
smoke detectors are required 
in common areas at base of, 
but not within, stairways and 
on each level. A hard wired 
heat detector, interconnected 
to the common smoke 
detectors, is allowed in each 
unit. See above for within 
dwelling unit requirements. 

780 CMR 919.3 
& 

3603.16 (6th 

Edition of 780 
CMR) 

 

2008-present 
New construction or 

Substantial 
renovations 

 

One and two 
family 

residences 

 

Interconnected hard wired 
detectors only. All smoke 
detectors shall be 
photoelectric or combination 
ionization and photoelectric 
detector. Smoke detectors 
Located within 20 Ft of a 
kitchen or bathroom 
containing a bathtub or 
shower shall be photoelectric 
technology only. Minimum of 
one smoke detector on each 

780 CMR 5313 
(7th Edition of 

780 
CMR) 
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level, but not including crawl 
spaces and uninhabitable 
attics. Inside each bedroom, 
outside of each separate 
sleeping area. One approved 
smoke shall be located on the 
ceiling near the base of, but 
not within, each stairway. In 
residential units of 1200 
square feet or more, 
automatic fire detectors in the 
form of smoke detectors shall 
be provided for each 1200 
square feet of area or part 
thereof. An interconnected 
heat detector is required in 
the garage. 

2008-present 
New construction or 

Substantial renovations

 

Common 
ingress/egress
of Two Family 

Dwellings 

 

Interconnected hard wired 
detectors. All smoke 
detectors shall be 
photoelectric or combination 
ionization and photoelectric 
detector. Smoke detectors 
Located within 20 Ft of a 
kitchen or bathroom 
containing a bathtub or 
shower shall be photoelectric 
technology only. Smoke 
detectors only in all common 
areas, including outside each 
unit door. Heat detector on 
each level within each unit. 
See above for within 
dwelling unit requirements. 
Dwelling unit smoke detectors 
shall sound within the 
dwelling only. 

780 CMR 5313 
(7th Edition of 

780 
CMR) 

 

Prior to 1997 

 
 
 
 
 

2009-present 
Three to five 

Units in whole 
or partial 

residential 

 

Dwelling units shall have 
interconnected hard wired 
photoelectric smoke detectors 
on each level and outside 
each sleeping area. Building 
fire alarm system heat 
detectors within the unit shall 
be in working condition. 
 
 

780 CMR 
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-------------------------------

1997-2009 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

----------------------------- 
2009-present 

 
 

 

 
----------------------------------- 
 
Dwelling units shall have 
interconnected hard wired 
photoelectric smoke detectors 
on each level and outside 
each sleeping area and within 
each bedroom. ** Smoke 
detectors within each 
bedroom are not required if 
building is sprinklered** 
Building fire alarm system 
heat detectors within the unit 
shall be in working condition 
(if not sprinklered). 
 
 
 
----------------------------------- 
 
Dwelling units shall have 
interconnected hard wired 
photoelectric smoke detectors 
on each level, outside each 
sleeping area and within each 
bedroom. Dwelling units shall 
have interconnected hard 
wired photoelectric smoke 
detectors on each level, 
outside each sleeping area 
and within each bedroom. 
“Buildings or structures 
occupied in whole or in part 
for residential purposes and 
containing not less than 
three or more than five units 
and not regulated by section 
twenty-six A, twenty-six B, or 
twenty-six C shall be 
equipped with approved 
smoke detectors. Owners of 
such buildings or structures 
shall install either an 
approved monitored battery 
powered detector or an 
approved primary power 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
MGL 148:26E 

(b) 
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smoke detector on each level 
and outside each separate 
sleeping area; provided, 
however, that the head of the 
fire department shall 
allow the installation of 
approved monitored battery 
powered smoke 
detectors; and provided, 
further, that in all common 
hallways and basements of 
said residential 
buildings or structures a 
series of interconnected 
approved primary power 
smoke detectors shall be 
installed.” 

Prior to 1997 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

------------------------------   
 
 

1997-2009 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

-----------------------------   
 
 

2009-present 

Six or more 
units in whole 

or partial 
residential 

Dwelling units shall have 
interconnected hard wired 
photoelectric smoke detectors 
on each level and outside 
each sleeping area.  Building 
fire alarm system heat 
detectors within the unit shall 
be in working condition. 
 
-------------------------------------   
 
Dwelling units shall have 
interconnected hard wired 
photoelectric smoke detectors 
on each level and outside 
each sleeping area and within 
each bedroom. **Smoke 
detectors within each 
bedroom are not required if 
building is sprinklered**  
Building fire alarm system 
heat detectors within the unit 
shall be in working condition 
(if not sprinklered).  
 
------------------------------------    
 
Dwelling units shall have 
interconnected hard wired 
photoelectric smoke detectors 

780 CMR 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

MGL 
148:26E(b) 
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on each level, outside each 
sleeping area and within each 
bedroom. 
 
“Apartment houses containing 
six or more dwelling units, 
hotels, boarding or lodging 
houses, or family hotels which 
are not regulated by section 
twenty-six A or twenty-six B 
shall be equipped with 
automatic smoke or heat 
detectors as provided by the 
Rules and Regulations of the 
Board of Fire Regulations.” 

 
 
 


